Happier at Home Jessica Constable blog

Highlights from Happier at Home by Gretchin Rubin

“To be happy at home is the ultimate result of all ambition, the end to which every enterprise and labour tends” Samuel Johnson, The Rambler, No 68

When a book starts with a quote of that caliber, you know you are in for a good read. After LOVING Gretchen’s book,  The Happiness ProjectI couldn’t help but dive right into Happier at Home. This was probably a mistake. I overloaded on Gretchen’s happiness wisdom! But…it was still a good read. The book takes place 5 years after Gretchen’s original project and this time focusses more on her home life. I may have been slightly put off by the pedestal Gretchen puts her relationship with her husband on (although…awwww) but there are still a load of gems of wisdom in there. So many in fact that I’m just going to lay a few out here. Fill your cup with beautiful words…then get the book 🙂

Those without a name are Gretchen’s own.

Happier Quotes

Home is “something you somehow haven’t to deserve” Robert Frost

“Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” Leo Tolstoy

“Sometimes words only diminish what I want to convey.”

“It isn’t enough to love; we must prove it.” Saint Therese de Lisieux

“Abstinence is as easy to me as temperance would be difficult.” Samual Johnson

“If you’re willing to take the blame when you deserve it, people will give you the responsibility.” Jack Craft (Gretchen’s dad)

“We get healthy self-esteem from behaving in ways that we find worthy of our own respect – such as helping other people.”

“On the whole, tho’ I never arrived at Perfection I had been so ambitious of obtaining it, but fell far short of it, yet as I was by the Endeavor a better and a happier Man than I otherwise should have been, if I had not attempted it.” Benjamin Franklin

“If something’s important to me, I should reserve time for it in my schedule, make a place for it in my home, and build relationships around it.”

“I thought how breathtaking, how fleeting, how precious was my ordinary day. Now is now. Here is my treasure.”

Gretchen’s Five Fateful Questions for decision making

“What am I waiting for?

What would I do if I wasn’t scared?

What steps would make things easier?

What would I do if I had all the time and money in the world?

If I were looking back at this decision, 5 years on, what will I wish I’d done?”

 

Gretchen’s 8 Splendid Truths

“First: To be happy, I need to think about feeling good, feeling bad, and feeling right, in an atmosphere of growth.

Second: One of the best ways to make myself happy is to make other people happy. One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy myself.

Third: The days are long, but the years are short.

Fourth: I’m not happy unless I think I’m happy.

Fifth: I can build a happy life only on the foundation of my own nature.

Sixth: The only person I can change is myself

Seventh: Happy people make people happy, but I can’t make someone be happy, and no one else can make me happy.

Eigth: Now is now.

Final words

I hope you enjoyed those. I recommend just reading them again. GEMS! Let me know if you’ve read the book, have a favourite quote from above, or if you have any recommendations for me.

One thought on “Highlights from Happier at Home by Gretchin Rubin

Leave a Reply

