Frugal Valentine's Millionaire Shortbread

Frugal Valentine’s Millionaire Shortbread

How do frugal minimalist health foodies celebrate Valentine’s Day? By making Frugal Valentine’s Millionaire Shortbread of course! Encouraged by the lovely Devise. Create. Concoct. blog, I’m sharing how I celebrated Valentine’s this year.

Firstly, mwey partner and I had some fun in our local supermarket while shopping. I stopped Philippe in front of the big stand of Valentine’s day cards and ‘gave’ him one…it of course had minions on it (longstanding joke around Philippe’s love of Despicable Me). He then selected one for me which had a dog cartoon on it (apt!) but without realising that inside it also showed the cartoon dog being glued to his iPad (even apter!). So we had a laugh, put the cards back and went on our merry way. I recommend trying this to those who don’t have the cash or desire to buy a card but like the sentiment.

Secondly, I finally got round to making Millionaire Shortbread for Philippe. He absolutely LOVES this stuff. So much so that when I first made it for him, he put it in his breakfast bowl, covered it in muesli and added milk. And happily devoured it all! (I blame his being French for this sweet tooth.) 

But little did I know that I had created a monster, not happy with store bought or cafe varieties, only wanting my homemade concoctions. He preferred how I would use coconut oil instead of butter in the base and how I would sometimes throw nuts in with the caramel. Well, who wouldn’t?! However, I wasn’t happy about the calorie count of condensed milk, or about the amount of sugar that is added to most Millionaire Shortbread recipes, so I went on the hunt for a healthier recipe. 

Enter the Oh Happy Veggie no bake millionaire shortbread recipe and the Goodness Guru BILLIONAIRE shortbread recipe. Although I didn’t follow either here precisely, if you’re into following recipes then I would give these ago. I will summarise my even-more-frugal, Valentine’s special version here.

Frugal Valentine's Millionaire Shortbread heart

Frugal Valentine’s Millionaire Shortbread

Makes one 9″ by 6″ tray, plus a 3″ tall heart (I told you this would be random!)

Ingredients:

For the base: 200g of leftover Christmas Danish biscuits (any plain biscuit/shortbread will do), 50g mix of almonds and oats. Enough melted coconut oil to stick all biscuit mix together; approx. 4tbsp.

For the caramel: 1 cup plus a few dates, soaked for 20 mins in warm water then scooped into the blender + 1/2 cup of that water. 2 tbsp coconut oil. 4 tbsp 100% peanut butter. Pinch of salt.

For the chocolate topping: Approx 200g of any random chocolate you have lying around. I used Christmas brussel sprout milk chocolates and some 100% cocoa chocolate.

If you’re still with me…here are the directions:

For the base: Blitz the dry ingredients in a blender (or chop and crush them) then mix with melted coconut oil. Pat into tin/casserole dish (no need for grease paper in my experience). Put in freezer for about 20 minutes to set.

For the healthy caramel: Put all ingredients in the blender. Add water slowly so that you can make sure that the mix is smooth but not runny. Pour on top of the biscuit base, smoothing into a layer, and return to the freezer. Spend next 20 minutes scooping and devouring all the remaining mixture out of blender…

For the topping: For once I actually did this the proper way, placing my chocolates into a glass bowl over a pan of boiling water. And of course it worked amazingly well. I’m so lazy… Once its all melted and combined, spread the melted chocolate over the caramel layer in the pan and return it to the freezer for as long as you can manage not to eat it!

Et voila! You will now have a delicious yet pretty healthy and basically free Millionaire Shortbread! Mine came straight out of the casserole when I turned it upside down, but if that doesn’t work, ease a knife around the edges to loosen it.

As a bonus, follow all the above instructions but use a silicon heart instead of a tin. It looks so cute, and is that little bit more special for Valentine’s Day!

I hope you enjoyed the recipe! If you want any more healthy meals, head on over to my Pinterest as I am quite obsessed.

I’d love to know what other frugal people and minimalists got up to this Valentine’s Day – did you do anything extra or just share some free hugs? Let me know!

 

3 thoughts on “Frugal Valentine’s Millionaire Shortbread

  1. devisecreateconcoct says:

    Lol! Hooray!!! She shared the million dollar recipe! I have got to try this. It sounds delicious and I’m loving the heart shape. So glad to have inspired someone and I do appreciate the ping back. Lol. Have a very happy Valentine’s Day. I hope Phillipe shares some with you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ben says:

    I really like this recipe! I switched up the base with almond flour in order to make it somewhat LCHF but the overall concept is great and I love that it tastes decadent without being overly sweet. Now I’ll have to try it for breakfast!

    Like

  3. jessicaconstable says:

    Thank you for the encouragement! Funnily enough it encouraged my brother, who lives near Toronto, in Cambridge, to bake one too! Inspiration hopping back and forth across the pond 😀 Off to steal another slice…

    Like

Leave a Reply

