6 Steps towards a Miracle Morning

Are you looking for big changes in your life but not sure how to make them? Or, more specifically, when? If so, ‘The Miracle Morning – The 6 habits that will transform your life before 8am‘ may help. The author, Hal Elrod, asks us to wake up from living unconsciously and believe in ourselves enough to take steps towards a better life. It’s a concept that’s hard not to get behind.

Hal found his way out of a rut, and into his fortune, after combining all the most powerful self-development tools he had heard of and bringing them together into a morning routine. He calls these tools together Life S.A.V.E.R.S and it stands for:

  1. Silence
  2. Affirmations
  3. Visualisation
  4. Exercise
  5. Reading
  6. Scribing

Hal found that using all of these tools everyday made him feel fantastic and allowed him to reach his definition of success.

Hal encourages readers to do this routine first thing in the morning, waking up earlier if need be, so that you start each day with positivity and direction. You decide.  I have found that it’s the first 3 SAVERS that were missing from my life so doing these first thing, and then making sure I have the other 3 scheduled into my day, works for me. I also have seen others add more feel good or productivity steps to the list, such as 10 minutes of cleaning, which I think is a great idea. The essence is do whatever will give you residual smugness throughout the day. I must say that even after 1 minute of jumping jack type exercises, I do feel that bit better about my level of exercise that day. And if I feel better, I might just be kinder to myself for the rest of my waking hours.

The 6 Steps to the Miracle Morning

Silence

Mindfully take control of your day by taking a few moments of silence first thing. You can meditate, pray, reflect, practice gratitude or simply breathe deeply. The most important thing is to not let you mind run away with you in these precious first minutes of the day. Take control now and you will feel better later.

Affirmations

“It’s the repetition of affirmations that leads to belief. Once that belief becomes deep conviction, things begin to happen.” Muhammad Ali

This is your time to announce to the world (or at least yourself) what you really want, why you want it, who you are committed to being to create it, and what you’re committed to doing to attain it.

Considering how much time the majority of us spend in negative self-talk, this may be the hardest step of the SAVERS. It just feels a little weird…but something about it does seem to make sense. I’m going to recommend a podcast by the kindest Life Coach on the circuit, Bruce Van Horn, called Affirmations for Abundant Living so you can learn more. If you’re finding it hard to be nice to yourself, Bruce will be nice enough to make up for that! However, if you’re open to giving affirmations a go, I recommend just thinking of something you want to achieve, and then give yourself some motivating words towards that goal. Something like, “I will achieve this dream because I really want it and I know that I can work hard enough to achieve it. I’m so dedicated and on course to make this happen!”. If it helped Muhammad Ali become the greatest, it might just help us!

Visualisation

This ties in with Affirmations and I find it goes better before them, so that you can be fired up by the vision before telling yourself you’re going to achieve it. There is a lot of information out there about Vision Boards and you can read more in this Huffington Post article. My meagre attempt was saving some inspiring pictures into a word document, but it still gets my juices flowing. Those images remind me of where I want to be in life (French villa anyone?!) and from there I close my eyes and imagine living that life. It certainly feels nice so, why not? Worth a shot!

Exercise

Exercise as part of my SAVERS routine so far has usually just been some jumping on the spot for a bit, or a couple of mild stretches while I wait for the kettle to boil. Hal puts on a yoga DVD and feels that that adds to his morning. Find what works for you and don’t stress if exercising isn’t usually in your vocabulary. I believe that any conscious movement is exercise so just go for whatever suits you.

Reading

“Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body and prayer is to the soul. We become the books we read.” Matthew Kelly

I must say that this is my favourite step, but I tend to enjoy it so much that the rest of the routine goes down the toilet! However, whether you love to read or not, just pick up something inspirational and get to it. If you only have 1 minute then reread the quotes on this page and hopefully you’ll feel that little bit more motivated. You can even have daily inspirational quotes delivered directly to your inbox by following the link. Be conscious about what you let into your brain but actively seek new ideas. It can really be life changing.

Scribing

Hal admits that he only used this word to fit the acronym and it covers any sort of writing or journaling. In this section Hal introduces the concept of ‘gap focus’ and I thought it so insightful I’ve included the text here:

“Human beings are conditioned to have what I call ‘gap focus’. We tend to focus on the gaps between where we are in life and where we want to be, between what we’ve accomplished and what we could have or want to accomplish and the gap between who we are and our idealist vision of the person we believe we should be.

The problem with this is that constant ‘gap focus’ can be detrimental to our confidence and self-image, causing us to feel like we don’t have enough, haven’t accomplished enough, and that we’re simply not good enough, or at least, not as good as we should be.”

Your journal is a great place to ignore that gap and take stock of what you have achieved. This is the idea of the ‘To Done’ list and there’s a great Life Hack article about this. If gap focus isn’t your problem then you can also use your journal to write about what you are thankful for or set a plan for your day. All of these methods of ‘scribing’ will be beneficial to you, and interesting to look back on as you develop.

Now to give it a try…

So there we have it, our Life Savers. Having consciously worked through the steps this week, I’m particularly enjoying the positive feelings that come from affirmations and visualisation. It’s like a small step towards the Law of Attraction (which I’ll address in a future post). If you are new to personal development, this could really be life changing. It certainly has been for many in the huge Miracle Morning community. The book itself also offers a template for implementing a 30 day trial and reaping the benefits so make sure to take advantage if you read the book. You can get hold of it through Amazon below, or, as I did from, from your local library. Let me know how your miraculous mornings develop and just shout if you want to know more!

Other quotes…

“Our level of success is always going to parallel our level of personal development.”

“If we don’t consistently invest time into our self-improvement, our life will not improve”

“Where you are is a result of who you were, but where you go depends entirely on who you choose to be”

“Remember, the moment you accept total responsibility for everything in your life is the moment you claim the power to change anything in your life.”

Leave a Reply

